Call for Awards

*Check back for updates in early fall 2023

Past Call for Annual Award Submissions

The Working-Class Studies Association (WCSA) invites nominations, including selfnominations for our annual awards. In all categories, we invite nominations of excellent work that provides insightful and engaging representations of working-class life, culture, and movements; addresses issues related to the working class; and highlights the voices, experiences, and perspectives of working-class people.

To be eligible, works must have been published (in the case of books or articles) or completed (in the case of films and dissertations) between January 1, 2020 and December 31, 2021.

To nominate a work for consideration, please send three copies (PDF or paper version), one to each judge on the judging panel (see below for names), with a cover letter that provides a brief explanation of why you think the work deserves recognition in this award category. Nominations are due by February 1, 2022.

The Award categories and judging panels are:

Tillie Olsen Award for Creative Writing: Published books of poetry, fiction, creative non-fiction, and other genres


Michelle Tokarczyk, – CHAIR
Professor Emerita, Goucher College
**Note: send email for full mailing address

Jen Vernon
Sierra College, MT-10
5100 Sierra College Blvd.
Rocklin, CA 95677

Jim Daniels
Alma College MFA Program
156 S. 19th St., Unit 106
Pittsburgh, PA 15203

C.L.R. James Award for Published Books for Academic or General Audiences


Raymond A. Mazurek, – CHAIR
Oak Lane,
Wyomissng, PA 19610

David Roediger
Department of American Studies,
University of Kansas
1501 Rhode Island
Lawrence, KS 66044

Christine Walley
Professor of Anthropology, MIT
**Note: send email for full mailing address

Ryan and Sackrey Award for Best Book by writer(s) of working-class origins or that speaks to issues of the working-class academic experience


Matt Brim, – CHAIR
Professor of Queer Studies, CUNY
**Note: send email to Matt Brim for instructions on mailing nominated materials

Jackie Goode
School of Social Sciences and Humanities,
Loughborough University,

Michael Grimes
Professor Emeritus,
Department of Sociology,

Russo & Linkon Award for Published Article or Essay for Academic or General Audiences


Barbara Jensen, – CHAIR
**Note: send email for full mailing address

Lisa Kirby
Professor of English and Director of The Texas Center for Working-Class Studies,
Collin College,
2800 E. Spring Creek Parkway,
Plano TX 75074

Robert M. Zecker
Professor of History,
Saint Francis Xavier University,
PO Box 5000,
Nova Scotia B2G 2W5

Studs Terkel Award for Media and Journalism: Single published articles or series, broadcast media, multimedia, and film


Jason Russell, – CHAIR
Associate Professor of Work and Policy Studies,
Empire State College – SUNY,
34-2875 Union Road,
Cheektowaga, NY 14227

Joseph Sciorra
Director of Academic and Cultural Programs
Calandra Italian American Institute
Queens College, CUNY
MAIL materials to:
25 West 43rds St,
17th Floor,
New York, NY 10036

Asia Muhammad
Secondary English Teacher/English Instructor
University of North Carolina at Pembroke
**Note: send email for full mailing address

Constance Coiner Award for Best Dissertation


Scott Henkel, – CHAIR
Wyoming Institute for Humanities Research
The Cooper House,
1000 East University Avenue,
Department 4036,
Laramie, WY 82071

Joseph Varga
Associate Professor of Labor Studies Indiana University
1127 Atwater Ave,
Bloomington, IN 47401

Sarah Attfield
School of Communication
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
University of Technology Sydney
PO Box 123, Broadway
NSW 2007

Announcement of Winners

Winners will be publicly announced at the annual WCSA conference. Winners will receive free conference registration to allow them to attend the awards banquet.

For questions about specific awards (e.g., extensions, shipping concerns) please contact the listed Chair of the Judging Panel. For all other and general questions on the awards process, please contact the WCSA Past-President.